In 2023 Ards and North Down Borough Council is undertaking a review of Village Action Plans across the Borough. 

Find out more, including details of additional Village Plan Review Drop In Sessions, at Village Action Plan Reviews | Ards and North Down Borough Council

Regeneration in Ards and North Down

Physical blight, changing transportation and accessibility requirements or the impossibility of adapting buildings to accommodate new uses are all forces which have consequences for local areas.

The recession, coupled with changes in consumer spending patterns and behaviours, had a considerable impact on the economic performance of towns across the UK.  The council's Regeneration Unit progresses urban and rural initiatives in Bangor, Newtownards, Holywood, Comber and Donaghadee and villages within the borough.
Who we work with?
The Regeneration Unit works with partners including the Department for Social Development (DSD), the Department for Regional Development (DRD) and the Department of the Environment (DOE) and stakeholders including five town partnerships and village regeneration and development associations.

Masterplans set out a vision, the regeneration objectives and the actions required to support the strategic physical regeneration of a particular town or city centre.

Masterplans were developed in partnership with the Department for Social Development (DSD) for:

  • Bangor
  • Holywood
  • Comber
  • Newtownards
  • Donaghadee

You can download masterplans below.

Village plans
Village plans set out an integrated vision for the area they cover; they are developed as part of a partnership approach to improving the area.

Each village plan describes:

  • your local area and vision for how the area will develop in the future
  • the key issues, priorities and opportunities in your area
  • how you can be involved in improving your local area
  • useful information about working alongside the council to get things done

There are village plans for:

  • Ballygowan
  • Carrowdore
  • Cloughey
  • Groomsport
  • Helen’s Bay and Crawfordsburn
  • Killinchy
  • Lisbarnett and Lisbane
  • Millisle
  • Portavogie
  • Six Road Ends
  • Ballyhalbert
  • Ballywalter
  • Conlig
  • Greyabbey
  • Kircubbin
  • Portaferry

You can download masterplans and village plans below.