Food Allergens


All food businesses including manufacturers, restaurants, takeaways, retailers, bakeries and sandwich bars have to inform their customers if any of fourteen specific allergens are contained in the food they serve or sell.

The 14 allergens are:

  • Celery
  • cereals containing gluten
  • crustaceans
  • eggs
  • fish
  • lupin
  • milk
  • mollusc
  • mustard
  • nuts
  • peanuts
  • sesame seeds
  • soya
  • sulphur dioxide

Allergen information should be easily accessible, in a conspicuous place, easily visible and clearly legible. This can be done in a number of ways:

  • a menu
  • chalkboard
  • information pack, or
  • If it is not provided upfront, you will need to signpost to where it could be obtained, either in written or oral formats. 

Additional guidance on allergens can be found on the Food Standards Agency website

Useful documents

For information on free food allergy on-line training please click here