Notice of Election

Notice is hereby given that:

1.  Elections are to be held for Councillors to serve on Ards and North Down Borough Council. In the event of a contest, a poll will be taken on Thursday 2 May 2019 and the hours of the poll will be from 7.00am to 10.00pm.

2.  The number of Councillors to be elected for each District Electoral Area of the Council is as follows:


District Electoral Area


Number to be elected

Ards Peninsula

Ballywalter, Carrowdore, Kircubbin, Loughries, Portaferry, Portavogie


Bangor Central

Ballygrainey, Ballyholme, Bloomfield, Broadway, Castle, Harbour


Bangor East and Donaghadee

Ballycrochan, Ballymagee, Donaghadee, Groomsport, Silverbirch, Warren


Bangor West

Bryansburn, Kilcooley, Rathgael, Rathmore, Silverstream



Ballygowan, Comber North, Comber South, Comber West, Killinchy


Holywood and Clandeboye

Clandeboye, Cultra, Helen's Bay, Holywood, Loughview



Conway Square, Cronstown, Glen, Gregstown, Movilla, Scrabo, West Winds



3.  Nomination papers may be delivered to Stephen Reid, the Deputy Returning Officer (DRO), at the Town Hall, Bangor BT20 4BT between 10.00am to 4.00pm on Wednesday 27 March, Thursday 28 March, Friday 29 March, Monday 1 April, Tuesday 2 April, Wednesday 3 April, Thursday 4 April, Friday 5 April and from 10.00am to 1.00pm on Monday 8 April 2019. They may only be delivered by the candidate, proposer or seconder or by the election agent if the agent’s name and address have been given to the DRO.

4.  A nomination pack may be downloaded from the Council website or the Electoral Office website or obtained during normal office hours from the DRO by either calling at the office or by telephoning 028 9127 8034.

5.  Applications to vote by post or by proxy are available to download from the Electoral Office website or by contacting the Electoral Office on 028 9044 6688.  Completed applications must reach the Electoral Office for NI, 2nd Floor, 15 Church Street, Belfast BT1 1ER by 5.00pm on Wednesday 10 April 2019 except where the application is made on the grounds of unforeseen illness. Any such application must reach the Absent Voting Unit by 5.00pm on Wednesday 24 April 2019.  


Deputy Returning Officer

Address: Town Hall, Bangor, BT20 4BT

Dated: 26 March 2019

Every person having a claim against the Deputy Returning Officer for any debt incurred by or on behalf of the Deputy Returning Officer for the purposes of an election shall, within forty two days after the day on which public notice is given of the result of the election, send to the Deputy Returning Officer detailed particulars in writing of such claim and the Deputy Returning Officer shall not be liable in respect of anything which is not duly stated in such particulars.